Canceling Account Overview

From DreamHost
Jump to: navigation, search

Overview

DreamHost allows its users to close a shared hosting account using the DreamHost panel. This article details how to close your shared hosting account, a VPS-only account, as well as a Dedicated-only account.

If you require further assistance or clarification with any aspect of your account, please contact DreamHost support at (Panel > ‘Support’ > ‘Contact Support’).

How do I cancel my account?

It is important to know that DreamHost provides an option to entirely close an account, although this option is only available while a shared hosting plan is active. If a DreamHost account has VPS services and/or Dedicated services without a shared hosting plan, refer instead to the corresponding section(s) below.

Closing your Shared hosting account

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘Billing & Account’ > ‘Manage Account’) page.
    01 Canceling Account link.fw.png
  2. At the top of the page (under your account number and name), click the ‘close account/end all hosting" link.
    Dh-kb-important-icon.fw.png Important: Be sure to read through the warning message that appears which provides details on all of your information that will permanently be deleted.


    02 Canceling Account settlement button.fw.png
  3. When you are ready to close the account, click the blue Continue to Account Settlement… button below the warning text.
    The DreamHost panel then automatically analyzes your account and identifies if there is a balance due which must be paid before the closure can complete.
    03 Canceling Account cancellation button.fw.png
  4. If there is no balance to pay, click the Continue to Finalize Cancellation… button to view the final page of the closure process.
Dh-kb-note-icon.fw.png Notes:
  • Any domain registration fees cannot be refunded.
  • If you used a free domain registration prior to ending your hosting plan, you are now responsible for paying the domain registration fee.


Closing your Shared hosting account if you also have a VPS or Dedicated plan

The following instructions are only if you have a shared hosting plan in addition to a VPS or Dedicated server.

Dh-kb-note-icon.fw.png Note: You must remove all users from the shared server in order to proceed.


  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘Billing & Account’ > ‘Manage Account’) page.
    Cancel shared hosting dropdown.png
  2. Click the 'Edit' link under the 'Ends' column all the way to the right. You'll see three options:
    • Auto-Renews
    • End Today
    • End After This Billing Period
    Cancel shared hosting dropdown2.png
  3. After you make your selection to end your hosting plan you are presented with a confirmation. Click Ok to proceed.
    Cancel shared hosting dropdown3.png
  4. If you did not remove your existing shared users from the shared server you'll be presented with the image above. Make sure to remove them first. Then you can proceed with canceling the hosting plan.

Closing your VPS hosting account

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘VPS’ > ‘Dashboard’) page.
    04 Canceling Account VPS.fw.png
  2. To the right of the VPS under the ‘Actions’ column, click the red Delete button.
    Dh-kb-note-icon.fw.png Note: If you have a shared hosting plan or Dedicated hosting server available on the account when you close your VPS, deleting the VPS offloads the user data and domain names to the available service. If there is no other hosting service in place, then the account will simply not have a hosting plan and remain available for domain registrations.


When finished, DreamHost sends the account owner an email to confirm the VPS has been deleted.

Closing your Dedicated hosting account

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘Dedicated Servers’ > ‘Dashboard’) page.
    05 Canceling Account Dedicated.fw.png
  2. To the right of the server under the ‘Actions’ column, click the red Delete button.
    Dh-kb-note-icon.fw.png Note: If you have a shared hosting plan or VPS available on the account when you close your Dedicated server, deleting the Dedicated server offloads the user data and domain names to the available service. If there is no other hosting service in place, then the account will simply not have a hosting plan and remain available for domain registrations.


How do I temporarily suspend my account?

DreamHost does not offer any service that temporarily suspends an account without the risk of losing data. You must instead close the account using the methods described above.

If you must suspend your services for any reason, DreamHost recommends that you close your account through the DreamHost panel. You can add services at a later date to re-establish hosting.

Dh-kb-important-icon.fw.png Important: Always make a Backup of your account before closing it, as DreamHost cannot guarantee that any of your data will be saved.


Do I get my money back if I cancel my account?

DreamHost prorates the user’s account for any remaining time that has been paid. DreamHost cannot refund money beyond the 97-Day Money-Back Guarantee.

Please note the following limitations on this refund policy:

  • Refunds within the 97-Day Money-Back Guarantee can only be processed for shared hosting, per the Terms of Service.
  • Domain registration fees are not refundable.
  • VPS and Dedicated plans are also not refundable.
  • Payments made via check/money order cannot be refunded once cleared.

If you choose to cancel your account, you retain ownership of any domain names that you have purchased. If, in the future, you would like to have your domain point to a different web host, you will be able to log in to the DreamHost panel, and make your change there to manage your registrations and free DNS services.

Do I get my money back If DreamHost cancels my account?

Should DreamHost abruptly disable a user’s account due to a breach of the Terms of Service, then the user forfeits any eligibility for a refund.