Account Privileges

From DreamHost
Jump to: navigation, search

Overview

Account Privileges allow you to grant account access to another person so they can edit settings within the panel. When you create account privileges, you are able choose how much access is allowed. For example, if you have four websites in your account and you want someone else to have access to only one of them, you can choose which domain, emails, and databases you want to provide access.

This page provides details on how to set up Account Privileges and further information about available privileges.

Enabling account privileges

To enable Account Privileges:

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > ‘Users’ > ‘Account Privileges’) page.
    01 Account priviledges menu.fw.png
  2. Click the Account Privileges link.
    The Account Privileges page appears:
    02 Account privileges Create User.fw.png
  3. Click the Grant Privileges to a New Person button.
    The Granting privileges page appears:
    03 Account privileges Add Privileges.fw.png
  4. Enter the email address and name of the person you wish to give privileges to.
    Note2 icon.png Note: You can also grant additional privileges on this page, including:
    • Billing info
    • Grant privileges for other users
    • Manage Private Servers


  5. Select the additional privileges to which you wish grant access.
  6. At the bottom of the page, click the Set Privileges button to save your changes.
    When you submit the information, a confirmation email is sent to the new user which requests a password change:
    01 Account priviledges original email.fw.png
    After you enable privileges for the new user, you can view a full listing of what you've allowed this user to access on your account:
    05 Account privileges Created.fw.png

What the granted user sees in the panel

When the newly created user logs into their account, they will only see the information you have allowed.

In the following example:

  • The new user named ‘dhwikiuser’ only has access to three domains and the unique IP.
  • The ‘Manage Account’ tab at the top is grayed out – this is because this user does not have billing privileges.
06 Account Privileges logged in.fw.png
  • Since billing privileges have not been added, this new user cannot add or renew registrations either.
Below is what they will see in the panel if they click the ‘Domains > Registrations’ tab:
08 Account Privileges No Domreg Access.fw.png

Privilege explanations

Billing
Modify billing details.
Grant Privileges
Checking this option allows the privileged user to grant privileges to other users.
Private Servers
Manage existing private servers and also gain access for managing future servers.
Domains
Modify existing and possibly future domains. Does not allow new domain hosting.
Domain Registrations
Modify and manage domain registrations. To add domain registrations, you must grant the privileged user billing access.
Users
Modify existing users and potentially future users. This privilege does not allow user creation.
Groups
Modify and manage Unix Groups.
Mailing Lists
Manage and post to mailing lists. Domain access is required to allow a privileged user to add mailing lists.
Discussion Lists
Manage discussion lists. Domain access is required to allow a privileged user to add discussion lists.
Databases
Modify existing databases and add new ones. Hosting Plan access is required to allow a privileged user to add new databases.
Note: Privileged users are not able to access the MySQL section of the panel unless they have access to at least one domain.
Hosting Plans
You may have multiple hosting plans under one account, and this would allow the user to add or remove features to all or some of these hosting plans.
Note: Privileged users are not able to add/access any additional features if they do not have access to at least one domain.

Revoking account privileges

  1. Navigate to the (Panel > 'Users' > 'Account Privileges') page.
    You’ll see a red X next to the privileged username:
    09 Account Privileges Revoke.fw.png
  2. Click the Revoke All Privileges for ‘username’ button.
    A pop-up confirmation box appears to confirm this action.
  3. Click OK to finish.